African Series Manawaka Series Children's Books Memoirs Essays Other
This Side of Jordan (1960)
The Prophet's Camel Bell (1963)
The Stone Angel (1964)
A Jest of God (1966)
The Fire-Dwellers (1969)
A Bird in the House (1970)
The Diviners (1974)
Jason's Quest (1970)
Six Darn Cows (1979)
The Olden Days Coat (1979)
The Christmas Birthday Story (1980)
Dance on the Earth (1989, published posthumously) Long Drums and Cannons: Nigerian Dramatists and Novelists 1952-1966 (1968)
Heart of a Stranger (1976)
A Tree for Poverty: Somali Poetry and Prose (1954, trans.)